Crime scene

Survived my first drive-by mugging attempt yesterday. Luckily they were truly rubbish at it: the car was too far away so the guy leaning all the way out of the passenger window couldnt quite reach my bag to pull it off my shoulder. Even luckier, it was one of the rare days I was carrying both a camera and a laptop. What a rookie.

By now I’ve realised that almost every expat you talk to has a similar story. Some are a bit scary – being dragged along the road as they try to wrestle the bag off your shoulder. And the leafy, quiet neighbourhood popular among expats where I live seems to be one of the worst places. Still, it’s not till it happens to you that you actually take it seriously. So thank you, useless muggers, for reminding me to be more careful.

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

